Next World Cup game: Brazil vs Croatia, Argentina vs Netherlands in Friday quarterfinals

Author Photo
FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022
(Getty Images)

It's on to the quarterfinals at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar as the final eight teams are known. They'll do battle over two days on Friday, December 9 and Saturday, December 10.

There will be two matches played on each of those days and the four winners left standing know they will play two additional matches.

First up for them will be the semifinals. The winners of those semis will face off in the final on December 18. The losers will meet to determine a third-place finisher the night before.

Among the favorites still in the running for the World Cup trophy are Brazil, France, Argentina, England, and Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal.

While 2018 World Cup finalists Croatia and the Netherlands are still in the mix, Morocco is the long shot to reach the semis as they get set to battle the Portuguese. 

The Sporting News will keep you on top of what's next on the World Cup calendar below. 

MORE: Which teams are out of the World Cup?

Next World Cup match 2022

The next World Cup matches are the first two quarterfinals: Croatia vs. Brazil and Netherlands vs. Argentina on Friday, December 9.

These are single-elimination matches with a winner that must be determined on the day.

If teams are level after 90 minutes, an additional 30 minutes of extra time will be played. If the deadlock persists after extra time, a penalty shootout will decide the winner.

Friday, December 9

Stage Match Time (EST / GMT)
Quarterfinal Croatia vs. Brazil 10 a.m. / 3 p.m.
Quarterfinal Netherlands vs. Argentina 2 p.m. / 7 p.m.

MORE: Complete Round of 16 schedule

Brazil vs Croatia live stream, TV channel

This quarterfinal match between Croatia and Brazil will be played at the Education City Stadium.

Here's how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Fri, Dec. 9 10:00 ET Fox,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Fri, Dec. 9 10:00 ET TSN 1, RDS (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Fri, Dec. 9 15:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC website
Australia Sat, Dec. 10 02:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Fri, Dec. 9 20:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Fri, Dec. 9 23:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Fri, Dec. 9 23:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Fri, Dec. 9 23:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Sat, Dec. 10 04:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Argentina vs Netherlands live stream, TV channel

This quarterfinal clash will be played at Lusail Stadium.

Here's how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Fri, Dec. 9 14:00 ET Fox,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Fri, Dec. 9 14:00 ET TSN 1, RDS (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Fri, Dec. 9 19:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Sat, Dec. 10 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Sat, Dec. 10 00:30 IST Sports 18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 SGT StarHub TV FIFA World Cup, Singtel FIFA World Cup 141 Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Sat, Dec. 10 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW
Author(s)
Author Photo
Simon Borg is a senior editor for football/soccer at The Sporting News.
LATEST VIDEOS