Is Lionel Messi playing today? Full details for Argentina vs. Australia at World Cup 2022

Author Photo
Getty Images

Despite Argentina's shaky start at the 2022 FIFA World Cup, their superstar Lionel Messi has still managed to shine brightly. 

The 35-year-old, likely appearing at the tournament for the last time, has scored three goals across their four games so far. 

Argentina came into this World Cup as favourites but look like they'll need Messi to once again work his magic if they are to leave Qatar with silverware. 

Messi is yet to win the tournament and from here on out, every game at the World Cup could well be his last on the biggest stage of all. 

MORE: Which teams have qualified for the World Cup quarterfinals?

When is Messi's next World Cup match?

Messi and Argentina will next be in action on Friday, December 9 when they take on the Netherlands in the quarterfinals. 

Argentina beat Australia 2-1 last time out with Messi opening the scoring to notch his third third goal of the tournament so far.

Netherlands look set to offer Argentina a stern test having themselves beaten the USA 3-1 in the Round of 16 and are yet to lose in Qatar. 

Argentina match schedule and results

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Tue, Nov. 22 Argentina 1 Saudi Arabia 2 5:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat, Nov. 26 Argentina 2 Mexico 0 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Weds, Nov. 30 Poland 0 Argentina 2 2:00 p.m. Stadium 974
Fri, Dec. 9 Argentina vs. Netherlands 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium

Argentina knockout round schedule because they finished 1st in Group C

Date Stage Match Time (ET) Stadium
Sat, Dec. 3 Round of 16 Argentina vs Australia 2:00 p.m. Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium
Fri, Dec. 9 Quarterfinals Argentina vs
Netherlands
2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Tue, Dec. 13 Semifinals TBC 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat, Dec. 17* Third Place Match TBC 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun, Dec. 18 Final TBC 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in event of defeat in semifinals

Argentina vs Netherlands live stream, TV channel

This quarterfinal clash will be played at Lusail Stadium. Here's how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Fri, Dec. 9 14:00 ET Fox,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Fri, Dec. 9 14:00 ET TSN 1, RDS (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Fri, Dec. 9 19:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Sat, Dec. 10 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Sat, Dec. 10 00:30 IST Sports 18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Sat, Dec. 10 03:00 SGT StarHub TV FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Sat, Dec. 10 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

Author(s)
Author Photo
Josh is a content producer for The Sporting News Australia.
LATEST VIDEOS