F1 Monaco Grand Prix preview: Previous winners, fastest lap, track layout, history and more

Author Photo
Getty Images

Arguably the most famous track on the F1 calendar, the Monaco Grand Prix has a long and impressive history in the sport.

First ran all the way back in 1929, the famous tight and twisting track first joined the official F1 World Championship calendar in 1950 and ever since, we've seen plenty of drama around the principality nation. 

Legends have been made on these streets, including Brazilian driver Ayrton Senna who holds the record number of victories at the Monaco Grand Prix, taking the chequered flag on six separate occasions throughout his career. 

From circuit stats to previous results, The Sporting News tells you everything you need to know about the Monaco Grand Prix and its illustrious history.

MORE: F1 Monaco Grand Prix predictions, odds, betting tips, best bets for 2023 race

Monaco circuit facts and layout

  • First Grand Prix hosted: 1950 (hosted since 1929 but not as part of F1)
  • Numbers of laps: 78
  • Circuit length: 3.337km
  • Total race distance: 260.286km
Getty Images

MORE: 2023 season calendar, list of circuits, fastest ever lap times and more

Five interesting facts about the Monaco Grand Prix

  • The Monaco Grand Prix is the shortest race in F1 history and remains as the only race that does not adhere to the FIA’s 305km minimum race distance ruling.
  • It takes over 250 workers up to six weeks to set up the Monaco Grand Prix every year. Due to its nature as a circuit in the middle of a small city centre, everything from safety barriers to all the grandstands need to be erected for every race. 
  • The Monaco Grand Prix has only had an official podium since 2017. Before that, the racetrack was used as 'Parc ferme' with the drivers collecting their trophies in the royal box next to the race track.
  • Turn six at the Monaco Grand Prix, also know as the 'Grand Hotel Hairpin', is the slowest corner on the F1 calendar with drivers rounding it at just 48 kmh (30mph). 
  • One of three circuits on the calendar to have a tunnel, drivers sometimes struggle to get to grips with the change in aerodynamic quality and light level as they race under the Fairmont Hotel. In 1984 during a wet race, Bernie Ecclestone famously asked a local fire crew to wet the tunnel as the change in track conditions was so severe. 

List of previous winners of the Monaco Grand Prix

Below is a full list of winners at the Monaco Grand Prix when the race has been a part of the Formula One calendar. It has hosted races since 1929 overall during its history.

Year Winner Constructor of winner
1950 Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo
1955 Maurice Trintignant Ferrari
1956 Stirling Moss Maserati
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati
1958 Maurice Trintignant Cooper-Climax
1959 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax
1960 Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax
1961 Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax
1962 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax
1963 Graham Hill BRM
1964 Graham Hill BRM
1965 Graham Hill BRM
1966 Jackie Stewart BRM
1967 Denny Hulme Brabham-Repco
1968 Graham Hill Lotus-Ford
1969 Graham Hill Lotus-Ford
1970 Denny Hulme Lotus-Ford
1971 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1972 Jean-Pierre Beltoise BRM
1973 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1974 Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1975 Niki Lauda Ferrari
1976 Niki Lauda Ferrari
1977 Jody Scheckter Wolf-Ford
1978 Patrick Depailler Tyrrell-Ford
1979 Jody Scheckter Ferrari
1980 Carlos Reutemann Williams
1981 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari
1982 Riccardo Patrese Brabham
1983 Kike Rosberg Williams
1984 Alain Prost McLaren
1985 Alain Prost McLaren
1986 Alain Prost McLaren
1987 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1988 Alain Prost McLaren
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1990 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1992 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1993 Ayrton Senna McLaren
1994 Michael Schumacher Benetton 
1995 Michael Schumacher Benetton
1996 Olivier Panis Ligier-Mugen-Honda
1997 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1998 Mika Häkkinen McLaren
1999 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 David Coulthard McLaren
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 David Coulthard McLaren
2003 Juan Pablo Montoya Williams
2004 Jarno Trulli Renault
2005 Kimi Räikkönen McLaren
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault
2007 Fernando Alonso McLaren
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Mark Webber Red Bull
2013 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2018 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2021 Max Verstappen Red Bull
2022 Sergio Perez Red Bull

Who holds the record for fastest lap at Monaco Grand Prix? 

British driver Lewis Hamilton holds the record for fastest lap recorded at the Monaco Grand Prix with a 1:12.909 lap time back in 2021 with Mercedes.

Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 031523
getty images

The seven-time world champion has previously won at this track on three occasions in 2008, 2016 and 2019 though in an interview with Sky Sports last year, he labelled it as the "most draining" race, which he later described as a "lottery".

Nathan Evans Photo

Nathan Evans is a data editor for The Sporting News.