Who has won the most FIFA World Cups as a player? List of most successful winners in history

Author Photo
Italy team raise 2006 World Cup trophy
Getty Images

Winning a FIFA World Cup is the ultimate prize for any professional footballer, the culmination of years of sacrifices, effort and hard work.

Some have been lucky enough to do it more than once!

Of the more than 450 players who have been on a winning team, only 21 players have won two or more World Cups, and one player stands above the rest.

The Sporting News take a lot at the most successful players in FIFA World Cup history. 

MORE: Which country has won the most World Cups?

Which player has won the most World Cups?

The legendary Pele is the only player to have won three World Cups, winning his first in the 1958 edition in Sweden as a 17-year-old in a tournament where he took the world by storm.

He also won four years later in Chile, though he missed the final through injury.

After failing to win in 1966, Pele and Brazil waltzed to further glory in Mexico in 1970 as they routed Italy 4-1 in the final. Their 1970 team is viewed as one of the greatest World Cup teams of all time.


Which players have won multiple World Cups?

Only, 20 other players have the distinction of winning more than one World Cup, with all but one of them being Brazilian or Italian.

This includes Brazilian legends Cafu and Ronaldo, who were a part of the victorious Brazil squads of 1994 and 2002.

The 2002 tournament in Japan and South Korea was one of Ronaldo's finest as a player, scoring eight goals including both goals in a 2-0 win over Germany in the final.

Other notable players in this category are Daniel Passarella, who captained Argentina to victory on home soil in 1978 and was part of the squad that won in Mexico in 1986.

Brazil's Garrincha played a key role in winning back-to-back World Cups in 1958 and 1962, as did Giuseppe Meazza for Italy in 1934 and 1938.

Three players also have the distinction of winning multiple tournaments without actually having played a game.

Castilho and Pepe achieved this with Brazil in 1958 and 1962, whilst Guido Masetti also went unused in Italy's victories in 1934 and 1938.

A host of France players missed the chance to be added to that list should as they failed to win again at the 2022 World Cup, being beaten in the final against Argentina. 

Here is a full list of the players who have won the World Cup more than once:

Player Team Title Years
Pele Brazil 3 1958, 1962, 1970
Bellini Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Cafu Brazil 2 1994, 2002
Ronaldo Brazil 2 1994, 2002
Castilho Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Didi Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Djalma Santos Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Giovanni Ferrari Italy 2 1934, 1938
Garrincha Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Gilmer Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Guido Masetti Italy 2 1934, 1938
Mauro Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Giuseppe Meazza Italy 2 1934, 1938
Eraldo Monzeglio Italy 2 1934, 1938
Nilton Santos Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Daniel Passarella Argentina 2 1978, 1986
Pepe Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Vava Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Mário Zagallo Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Zito Brazil 2 1958, 1962
Zozimo Brazil 2 1958, 1962

Which player has won the most World Cup games?

The player who was won the overall most games at the World Cup is Mirsolav Klose.

Beginning in 2002, the German was part of the team that finished runners-up, and went on to win 17 matches over four tournaments.

Author Photo
Patrick is a freelance journalist who is currently based in Sydney, and primarily covers football for The Sporting News.